Amsterdam day 2

Posted on August 18, 2011

0


The second day was perhaps my dad’s favorite, full of buildings and newly created parts of the city… perhaps a wee bit too full, to my taste. As my dad is a teacher of urbanism, and city-building in the Budapest University of technology and Economics, the bigger part of our holiday consists of going all around a city – not just the ordinary tourist’s sights – and photographing buildings. It can be really fascinating and interesting, but sometimes it’s too much.

These shoots take place in a brand new part of Amsterdam. Actually, in a brand new piece of land. In a newly built island! It’s so incredible that men can do such things: the Dutch’s constant problem the lack of land, so they built an island…

One of our Dutch acquaintances complained about not having any wild in Holland. He said that even the few forests were plated by men. It’s amazign and frightening at the same time: how humans can define their environment.

If I’ll ever have this kind of city-bike I think I will have something like this. I think I prefer keeping things easy, and elegant.

On our way to home we were caught in the rain! It was really pouring!

Posted in: photos